“He loves me,  he loves me not”

I whisper as the endless amount of flower petals land up on my bedroom floor.

pink-rose-petals-pile-white-33947282

I eagerly await to be spoilt rotten, to get some appreciation shown that I am actually a decent human being worth loving. But alas why all the fuss about a day about as heart filled as the rest of my life.

History lesson on valentines day starts here:

Valentine’s Day, also known as Saint Valentine’s Day or the Feast of Saint Valentine is a celebration observed on February 14 each year. It is celebrated in many countries around the world ❤ ❤ ❤

34d29416a54a36c43e159f280ebcc418

St. Valentine’s Day began as a liturgical celebration of one or more early Christian saints named Valentinus A popular  account of Saint Valentine of Rome states that he was imprisoned for performing weddings for soldiers who were forbidden to marry and for ministering to Christians, who were persecuted under the Roman Empire.

According to legends, during his imprisonment, he healed the daughter of his jailer, Asterius. An embellishment to this story states that before his execution he wrote her a letter signed “Your Valentine” as a farewell. (Hence the beginning of the name).

The day was first associated with romantic LOVE  in the High Middle Ages, when the tradition of courtly love flourished. In 18th-century England, it evolved into an occasion in which lovers expressed their love for each other by presenting flowers, offering sweet items (like the chocolates) and sending cards (known as “valentines“). In Europe, Saint Valentine’s Keys are given to lovers “as a romantic symbol and an invitation to unlock the giver’s heart”. 

So what will your plans be this Valentines day?? seeing as though I do not have a Valentine (yet, hopefully my luck will change).I see myself with myself indulging in a long hot shower, with a bottle of wine, chocolates and some Lana Del Ray booming in the background about how much guys suck. Sounds pretty perfect don’t you think!

hopefully you will be blessed and shot by the little Cupid and i seriously hope you are luckier than me, and if not this year there is always next year ❤

Love will find you, just be patient, just be kind and always be yourself and hey there is nothing wrong with loving yourself on this glorious upcoming Valentines day.

“All you need is love. But a little chocolate now and then doesn’t hurt”

-Charles M. Schulz
Read more at http://www.brainyquote.com/quotes/topics/topic_valentinesday.html#hE2P6xx1gJ4Tpylk.99

