22 March 2017

 

Dear friend

I have had an immensely late start to the year of blogging but better late than never. My blog will be taking a somewhat different turn as of lately because not only will I attempt to blog about the mundane tasks of my everyday life and new adventures. I will begin to use my blog as a type of journal for a course which has begun to change my life: existential conversations or now linTheto zoBomi which means making conversations in isiXhosa.

Design is about creating spaces for people to enjoy and of course, creating moments where you elevate the spirit, but ‘design for good’ is figuring out a program that not only creates better spaces, but creates jobs, creates new industry and really kind of raises the conversation about how we rebuild-Cameron Sinclair

This course is not a usual university course- the way it runs is different along with the approach, the atmosphere and also the level of learning which comes out of it. And of course conversations are key and you LEARN so so much more through conversations. And so I will begin my journey and through this I will express what I have learnt, how I have learnt it and what exactly I aim to do with this new knowledge alongside other things.

1475272163163

 

Doing this course in y first year and now being a leader and going into my second year of this phase, this has been so different from my first group. The group itself is different and if anything I think I have finally begun to understand more of the course content and I learn so much more with my group too. They help me see links which I did not see before. I have learnt that every one has a different way of learning and processing the information that they learn- I have also learnt that I am more creative than academic (hence a blog as opposed to an essay). The amazing thing about this course is the fluidity and the constant change which in turn keeps you on your toes constantly changing and learning.

Before this course I was very one sided- I constantly missed the bigger picture as I was so focused on my mundane tasks and little things which overtook my mind. I had selective thinking and I would not say that I am completely cured as I still have my moments but now I can proudly say that I am more aware of the things I do. And now when I have my moments of selective thinking I go back and ask myself “WHAT AM/ WAS I LOOKING FOR SO HARD”- and is this really worth it.

I have begun to realize that I need to revaluate my OWN freedom and the way that I think and do. I need to ask myself – AM I LIVING THE LIFE I WANT- AND IF NOT HOW DO I GET MYSELF THERE?

I need to learn and distinguish the difference between what blinds me in life vs what matter the most. I need to learn what is obvious is my life and what is apparent vs what is blind and if there are too many aspects that I am oblivious to, I need to learn how to fix that. This is an ever changing process just like I will always be changing and growing.

Just as I will be ever changing and growing to become a more ethical human being, I hope that I can help you too while reading this blog and we can learn and become more ethical together.

 

Obviously everyone wants to be successful, but I want to be looked back on as being very innovative, very trusted and ethical and ultimately making a big difference in the world- Sergey Brin

